Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Duleep Trophy

The Duleep Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket competition played in India between teams representing geographical zones of India. The competition is named after Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji of NawanagarThe competition was started by the Board of Control for Cricket in India in the 1961–62 seasonFive Indian zonal teams regularly take part in the Duleep Trophy – North ZoneSouth ZoneEast ZoneWest Zone and Central ZoneThe original format was that the five teams played each other on a knock-out basis. From the 1993–94 season, the competition converted to a league format. From the 2003–04 season until 2008, the five original zonal teams competed along with a sixth guest team which was a touring foreign team. The first guest team was England A in 2003–04.
Since, the format has been replaced by the original 5-team knockout tournament.

Friday, June 19, 2015

Ana Ivanovic

 Ana Ivanovic is a Serbian professional tennis player

 Born on November 6, 1987 at Belgrade, Serbia

 Grand slams Won: 1

she beat Dinara Safina to win the 2008 French Open

 Ranked No. 1 in the world in 2008

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Pankaj Advani

Pankaj Arjan Advani is an Indian professional player of English billiards and former professional snooker player.

Saturday, June 13, 2015

Deodhar Trophy

The Deodhar Trophy is a List A cricket competition in Indian domestic cricket. It is named after Prof. D. B. Deodhar (known as the Grand Old Man of Indian cricket) and is a 50-over knockout competition played on an annual basis among the 5 zonal teams - North ZoneSouth ZoneEast ZoneWest Zone and Central Zone. The competition was introduced in 1973-74 season with South Zone winning the trophy.
Two teams play in a quarter-final match, with the winner progressing to the semi-finals, met with the remaining 3 teams. From then, it is a simple knockout tournament.

Monday, June 8, 2015

Stan Wawrinka

Stanislas aka "Stan" Wawrinka Winner of the French Open 2015.

Stan already has One Grand Slam Australian Open 2014 under his belt.

He is Swiss Professional Tennis Player.

He also won a gold medal for Switzerland in the men's doubles event at the 2008 Summer Olympics, partnering Roger Federer.

He was also part of the Swiss team that won the Davis Cup in 2014

Friday, June 5, 2015

Multi Talented AB De Viliilers

Abraham Benjamin "AB" de Villiers (born 17 February 1984) is a South African cricketer.

He is a talented sportsman and has excelled in golf, rugby, badminton, cricket and tennis. At his school he was part of the school's U-14 cricket team. He played golf at a good level.

Rugby was the most followed sport at his school so he took it up too. He once had a flair for hockey and made it to the U-16 side of the school. He was shortlisted for South Africa's junior national hockey team.

He returned to play rugby when he stopped with hockey. He was soon part of the school's rugby team. He performed extraordinarily well and was selected for the Blue Bulls U-18 side, which had some big names that would later represent South African rugby.

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

Gurpreet Singh Qualifies for 2016 RIO Olympics

28-year-old Subedar Gurpreet Singh qualifyed for 2016 Rio Olympics on Sunday. He is the fifth shooter from the country to have secured the Rio Olympics quota berth. 

He secured a place in the 2016 Olympics by scoring 154.6 points in the finals of 10-meter air pistol event in International Shooting Sports Federation (ISSF) World Cup presently underway at Munich, Germany.

He won two gold medals in shooting events at the 2010 Commonwealth Games held in India. He paired up with Vijay Kumarto win a gold in the Men's 25m Rapid Fire Pistol (Pairs) on 7 October 2010. On the same day, he and Omkar Singh won another gold medal in the Men's 10m Air Pistol (Pairs). He also won an individual bronze in Men's 25m rapid fire pistol (Singles) at the event. He hails from and is currently serving the Indian army.